LIST OF PRESIDENTS OF THE BLACK DIAMOND COAL MINING COMPANY, LATER RENAMED SOUTHPORT LAND AND COMMERCIAL COMPANY

No.	Dates Served	<u>Name</u>	Approx. Length Served
1.	06/15/1861 to 06/16/1863	Alexander G. Ramsdell ¹	2 years
2.	06/16/1863 to 02/06/1866	Cyrus A. Eastman	2 years, 7 months
3.	02/06/1866 to 01/15/1867	Louis Anacharsis Garnett	11 months
4.	01/15/1867 to 01/24/1872	Alvinza Hayward	5 years
5.	01/24/1872 to 01/19/1904	Pierre Barlow Cornwall	32 years
6.	01/19/1904 to 07/27/1911	Henry Huntley Taylor ²	7 years, 6 months
7.	08/12/1911 to 02/18/1925	Abraham Barker Davis	13 years, 6 months
8.	02/18/1925 to 07/13/1957	Elliott Steele McCurdy ³	32 years, 4 months
9.	07/29/1957 to 02/19/1958	Thomas H. Word	6 months
10.	02/19/1958 to 03/06/1985	Hayward R. Alker, Sr.	27 years
11.	03/06/1985 to 06/30/2007	Dr. Henry A. Alker III	22 years, 3 months
12.	07/01/2007 to Present	David R. Fischer	N/A

^{1.} Mr. Ramsdell was officially the President of the company until June 16, 1863, however on April 21, 1863 he took a leave of absence and J. Wesley Ladd was appointed "President Pro Tem." Mr. Ladd presided at only one meeting, on June 16, 1863.

- 2. Mr. Taylor died in office on July 27, 1911.
- 3. Mr. McCurdy died in office on July 13, 1957.

(Rev. #3; 7/07/2011)